Today we’re taking a little detour from our regularly scheduled pictures…I follow LOTS of photography, design and inspiration blogs. My RSS feeder is constantly working to keep up. It’s so fun to see others creativity and learn from others. One that I follow and admire recently posted about photos being “timeless” and that trends should be left out of pictures.

For some reason it stuck with me and I’ve been pondering this all week. I’m come to the conclusion that I COMPLETE DISAGREE! Photography is about this exact moment in time; this particular day; today’s emotion. If we take all the  items out of a photo that date it- no railroad tracks, no DI couch in an alley, no baby in a lonely field-what are we left with? More things that date it!! We’d need to take out any fashionable clothes that are popular, hair do’s we have right now, no silly faces. Where do we stop taking out items that date the photo? We’d all end up with black and white plain clothing, 1800’s hair cuts, no smiles (cause missing teeth or crooked teeth before braces will DATE the photo), and THEN we’d cry because we lost ourselves trying to be “timeless”. Even my “timeless” wedding photos are dated!!!! Colors I’d never choose again! A hairstyle I should have been shot for! A dress that would rival Cinderella! Even posed photos that are all but dinosaurs in the posing world.

I say: put on legwarmers and a huge flower, frolic in a field with an antique couch and walk hand-in-hand into the sunset because that’s who you are RIGHT NOW! Now will be gone and another photo will be taken with new trends and new memories. We are so blessed to have this time and its trends, so take advantage of them! And most of all, have fun! Capture the moment and LIVE!

End of soap box. I”d love to hear your thoughts on this matter. Doesn’t matter which side of the super-cute-broken-down-fence you are on…

Can’t leave without a picture

